About Me

Hello, my name is Bec Fisher. I’m a 40-year-old mum of two children aged 11 and 8, and happily call Brisbane home. As well as spending time with my family I love going to the beach, hanging out with my dog Lexie, camping, bush walks, blue sky, cups of tea (or a glass of wine depending on the time of day), people watching, travel, riding my bike and having a good laugh with my friends. I definitely prefer to spend more time outside than in, and with people rather than without.

I started my career as a primary school teacher and in recent years have worked as a supply teacher in a few local schools, which has fitted in perfectly with family life. As my children are becoming more independent, the opportunity is ripe to throw myself back into work fully. But the question is…doing what? I’ve only ever been a teacher and would like to try something new. What other opportunities are there for me?  I figure the only way to find out is by getting some work experience. Lots of it!

And so the idea of doing 40 jobs during the year that I turn 40 was born (just 5 days before my 40th birthday).

Perhaps one of the jobs I attempt will pique my interest and I’ll be able to pursue it further. There’s also a chance I’ll decide that continuing my career as a teacher is the best option for me. But maybe, just maybe, this adventure will lead me down a completely different path that I have yet to even contemplate.

Whatever happens over the next 40 weeks, this is my window, my second chance, to discover what I want to be when I grow up.  And I’m excited to find out!